The First Gay Character in a Disney Movie…is Le Fou

So today we found out that Le Fou in the new BEAUTY AND THE BEAST MOVIE is gay.

While I am grateful for the fact that Disney is finally (FINALLY) putting a gay character in one of its major motion pictures, and while BEAUTY AND THE BEAST is also my favorite Disney movie OF ALL TIME and means a lot to me…I am a little frustrated with how they chose to do this.

Granted, I haven’t seen the film, and I’m trying to withhold judgment, but there are already problems with the execution. Le Fou is a toadie–really not the kind of character that kids can look up to, and in the interview it states that the gay moment is between Gaston–THE VILLAIN–and Le Fou. Le Fou is the comedy relief of the film, and we already have enough problems with gay characters being relegated to sidekicks and just-there-for-entertainment. I have a sick feeling in my stomach that this might be used for laughs, and if that’s the case…that’s going to be reprehensible.

Again, I’m trying to withhold judgment, but think about all of the queer kids going to see this. Le Fou isn’t a hero. He isn’t even a positive kind of character. And THIS is what we’re giving our queer kids?

It’s important that there is, at least, a gay character. But we need to do better.

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The First Gay Character in a Disney Movie…is Le Fou

  1. Raven says:

    Totally agree! At least Disney seems to be trying to make the attempt since the show Once Upon A Time had paired Red Riding Hood with Dorothy in one of its shows. I was totally shocked, but at the same time pleasantly surprised. They should do more stories like that, but I bet they are pacing themselves in considering their “conservative” audiences.

Leave a Reply

