Merry and Bright

Just a sort of holiday reminder…there are a lot (A LOT) of queer kids out there who are living terrible lives full of abuse and fear. They will grow up (hopefully) and get out of these lives, but it’s our responsibility as queer adults to do our best to make those kids’ lives a little bit better. Because we know, better than most, what they’re going through.

I send a free copy at LEAST once daily of A KNIGHT TO REMEMBER to a queer kid who emails me asking for it. A DAY. Each day, I get an email detailing a child’s life of abuse, intolerance and fear, where they’re terrified to come out to their parents, terrified they’ll become homeless. And their fears are, of course, founded, since FORTY PERCENT OF HOMELESS YOUTH ARE LGBTQ. Forty. Percent. It’s the silent epidemic no one talks about, but as someone who WAS homeless for being gay…this is incredibly important to me. So I reply to their emails, try to help them as best as I can, and I send them free books, because I know–again, better than most–that a story about a strong, positive lesbian can do wonders for their self esteem. For their own sense of self worth.

There are so many queer kids out there hurting, afraid. This holiday season you can do a lot to help. If you’re a fellow author, you can make a blog post detailing the fact that you’ll send a free eCopy of a book to any queer child who asks for one–no questions asked (and yes, before anyone chimes in–I’m sure there are a few people who lie, who aren’t in the situations they detail, who just want a free book. But what’s most important to me is the fact that there ARE kids reading my books that will feel more hopeful after reading them–that’s the only important thing in my mind. And, if you’re lying to receive a free lesbian romance, then you probably need something positive in your life, anyway. It’s a win/win for me.). You can donate to Compass House, Covenant House or the Trevor Project. You can volunteer or be a big sister or brother for a queer teen.

You know how hard it can be if you’re queer and a teenager. You remember the pain, the deep sadness, the terror. I do. And I will never, in my whole life, be silent about it. I will always, always help where I can.

I hope you will, too.

♥ ♥ ♥

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry and Bright

  1. Ted says:

    You’re kinda being awesome right now Bridget. Scratch that, more awesome than your normal awesome. 🙂 That’s a lot of awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

