For the Love of Stories

I wasn’t really expecting my priorities to shift after the accident Natalie and I were in last month. People say that after a near-death experience, you realize what’s really important. I’m lucky, and I know I’m lucky–I know exactly what’s important: the love of my life. I’ve known that ever since I met her, and that realization has never left my sights. Natalie is the most important thing in the world to me, and that will never change. I didn’t need an accident to clearly see what I already adore every single day. ❀

But there were smaller shifts after the accident. Little things I started to notice more, since my mortality was something that had been VERY CLEARLY DEMONSTRATED to me by the accident. πŸ™‚

And one of the most important things was this:

I'm never going to be able to write all of the stories I want to in my lifetime.

Good heavens, that's a frustrating thing. My entire life, my brain has been full of a million ideas for stories, and that's not changed as I get older (I've been writing since I was a kid!). In fact, it's gotten "worse." I get ideas, MANY ideas, every single day. In the shower, making breakfast, while drinking my coffee, while watching a television show with Natalie, while walking the dogs, while doing yoga, while Natalie and I…ahem. ;D (But I'm being serious. EVEN THEN!). I'm FULL OF IDEAS, literally, and I scribble them down on pieces of notebook paper, on receipts, on the inside cover of a book because I can't find a scrap of paper… I'm constantly telling Natalie these story ideas excitedly, like: "what if there was this woman, who fell in love with an angel…” or “would it be too crazy if there was a town of werewolves?”

“What if” are two of the most important and exciting words in my vocabulary. πŸ™‚

That being said, Natalie and I have had a lot of really great discussions about our writing and our stories since the accident, and we’ve been working out a lot of different things. And one of the most exciting is this.

Yes, it’s going to be impossible for me to write all of my story ideas in my lifetime. ESPECIALLY at the rate I get ideas. But at least I can try. πŸ™‚ I have a lot of ideas for novels, yes, but I also get a LOT of ideas that are shorter in scope that would be perfect for shorter works of fiction. So that’s what I’m going to do.

I’m going to keep putting out my novels, but I’m also going to experiment more with shorter works of fiction. You guys enjoyed a lot (thank you so much for your support!) my holiday werewolf novellas, so I’m going to start writing out some of my ideas that aren’t necessarily long enough for a novel, but would be perfect for more bite-size pieces of fiction, about the same length as those werewolf stories. πŸ™‚

A LOT of you have also told me that you’re part of the Kindle Unlimited program. The Kindle Unlimited program is awesome for readers, but I’ve not participated in it yet because I have a LOT of readers on other platforms. Kindle Unlimited demands exclusivity from an author–that means that if I put a book in the Kindle Unlimited program, my readers on all the other platforms, like Barnes and Noble and iTunes wouldn’t be able to read it. This has been hard for me to reconcile in my head–fairness is so important to me, and I don’t want my other readers to not be able to read something I wrote!

But these shorter works of fiction could be put in Kindle Unlimited, giving my readers who partake of that program the chance to borrow my work for free. My novel-length works will continue to be on all platforms, but my shorter works, for the time being, will participate in Kindle Unlimited. I’ll see how everyone likes it, and adjust accordingly going from there. πŸ™‚

The very first shorter work I’m putting out is called Falling for Summer. It’s a contemporary romance about a woman named Amanda. Twenty years ago, her little sister drowned in Lake George, and she blames herself for her sister’s death…now, on the twentieth anniversary of the drowning, Amanda goes back to Lake George and meets Summer, a beautiful, vivacious, carefree woman who is everything Amanda isn’t. Amanda begins to fall for her until she learns Summer’s dark secret. Can love heal all wounds? (If you’re not already on our mailing list, sign up here to be notified the minute Falling for Summer is released!)

I’m really excited about all the stories coming soon, even as I get more ideas. πŸ™‚ It helps take my mind off of hard things (like the renovation on our house that Natalie and I are trying, so hard, to complete. Or the thousands of dollars of plumbing work we just had to pay for in said house. 😦 Urgh! I’ll let you guys know when the renovation is complete, but for now, know that every other day, Natalie and I are out there, working our butts off to get that dratted house up on the market. SO SOON! Wish us luck!!! πŸ™‚ ), and it makes me so happy to be able to tell these stories. πŸ™‚

Thank you so much for your continued support. It means the world to me!

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For the Love of Stories

  1. bskies423 says:

    I have read every single book you have written so far and am looking forward for more. Continue doing what you love and nothing can stand in your way as long as it makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

