Grateful

So, Natalie and I should be dead right now.

Last week, we were driving home from a quick trip to the craft store. It was a tiny trip, and we’d only made it because we’d both worked so hard that day we were exhausted and wanted to get out of the house.

I was driving through my green light at one of the major intersections by the mall. A guy in a huge truck ran his red light and slammed into my driver side.

He hit us so hard that we spun around a couple of times and ricocheted off of the oncoming traffic. We spun around a few more times after hitting a car so hard that we totaled it instantly, and came to rest in our lane of traffic again.

In total, the driver’s side was hit, the front was hit, and the passenger side was hit. BOTH driver’s side and passenger side were just a FEW INCHES OFF FROM KILLING US. The policeman couldn’t believe we were able to climb out of the wreckage ourselves.

I have whiplash, and Natalie has a severe knee contusion…but other than that, we’re alive. Something I can’t believe: WE’RE ALIVE.

When it happened, it happened so fast…but the minute we were hit, I kept saying: “baby, baby, it’s okay,” and I threw up my arm to press her against the seat, even though we were both wearing our seatbelts. My only thought was for her safety. The second we came to a standstill, the engine smoking like crazy, my foot was caught and my driver’s side door wouldn’t open…and all I could think about was getting her out. She’s the love of my life, and as it happened, my entire life flashed in front of my eyes, and all I could think about, see, feel, was love for her.

It was surreal, and–honestly–I can’t believe we’re alive. I keep having these moments where I realize that, technically, we should be dead. But we aren’t. We’re ALIVE.

You never expect these things to happen. Every moment is precious. EVERY. MOMENT.

I’m so grateful to be alive, so grateful my wife is alive, I have no more words.

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grateful

  1. bskies423 says:

    I would say you both are incredibly blessed and someone was watching out for you. I am glad you are both ok with minor injuries 🙂

  2. Min says:

    I have no other words than I too am grateful you both are ok!

  3. Nicky P. says:

    Omg I’m so happy you guys are alright! I’m sorry this happened and I wish you both a quick recovery! This just means you were both meant to be here. Live each day as if there were no tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

