THE VAMPIRE NEXT DOOR — Coming Soon!

So, you guys know that I’m married to my favorite writer in the universe, author Natalie Vivien. I can’t tell you how amazing it is to be a writer, married to a writer. We bounce all of our ideas off of each other, help each other come up with outlines and work together on every concept and character we come up with.

But we’d never written a book together…

Until NOW. ๐Ÿ™‚

Natalie came up with the concept for a book last summer. “It’s about vampires,” she told me, “but it’s funny. And really romantic. But it’s much more of a romantic comedy than a paranormal drama.”

“It sounds AWESOME,” I told her with a kiss. “I can’t wait to read it!”

Natalie has written paranormal before, and she’s amazing at it, so she came up with some things for this funny-vampire-love-story novel, wrote the first chapter and set it aside. “I want to think about it some more,” she told me.

Months passed and Natalie kept on working on different things. “I don’t know,” she said with a frown. “I just don’t know what do do with that vampire book…”

After several months more passed, we were talking about our upcoming projects together. “I really want you to work on that vampire book,” I told her excitedly. “I really, really want to read it, baby!”

“Well, actually,” she told me with a soft smile, “I was wondering…do you want to write it with me?” ย I stared at her with excitement. ย “I mean, think about,” she told me, her smile growing. ย “You write vampires. ย It could be the excuse we’re looking for to write a book TOGETHER!”

I very (very, VERY) enthusiastically agreed. We’d both been wanting to write something together since we’d gotten together over eleven years ago. We both fell in love with each other through our writing and because of our stories, butย we were always working on too many things to take the time to write something one hundred percent together. ย But now, finally, everything had fallen into place.

So The Vampire Next Door became OUR project, and we both began to work on it together in earnest.

Writing with Natalie has been a dream come true, and–honestly–it’s one of the easiest, best, funniest books I’ve ever had the pleasure to work on. Natalie’s brilliant ideas and mine come together in the text, and the way that we write together makes creatingย the novel such a breeze, since we’re both shouldering the plot, characters and love story together.

The Vampire Next Door has everything you’d expect from Natalie–it’s super funny, smart, clever and has characters that are incredibly engaging, along with some steamy scenes that’ll make you turn on the air conditioner (if you have one). ;D It also has everything you’d expect from me–a sizzling romance, paranormal elements, vampires and a deep connection between the characters. All of the best of both of us has been put into this book, and it’s one of my favorite things I’ve ever written.

Sign up for our newsletter (if you’re not on it already!) to be the first to know when The Vampire Next Door is released! Since we’re in final edits, it’s my hope that it will be fully edited and ready to go next week–I’ll keep you guys posted! โค

I can’t WAIT to share this labor of love with you! ย It’s, seriously, my and Natalie’s book baby. ย ๐Ÿ™‚ ย โค โค โค

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to THE VAMPIRE NEXT DOOR — Coming Soon!

  1. Ted says:

    Cannot wait! You’re both terrifically talented in your own right. Together? Awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. bskies423 says:

    Wow that’s fantastic, I love both of your writing styles. A book together will be amazing. Looking forward to reading it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you for being so wonderful and so supportive–we appreciate it so much! We’re so glad you’re excited about the book! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • bskies423 says:

        Well being an avid reader I have a short list of my favorite authors and you both just so happen to be on it. So it’s only logical for me to be excited. It is my pleasure to show support for the people that have such a deserving talent. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

