Eleven Years Ago Today <3

Eleven years ago, RIGHT THIS VERY MOMENT, Natalie and I were talking on the phone. I’d been telling her “I love you” every single night for one month, because I’d already loved her for years. I was doing my very, very best to woo her, and it was working, but she needed time, and I was patient. I’d waited so long, I could wait however long it took for her to fall in love with me. And tonight, right now, right this minute, eleven years ago…we were ending our conversation. Sleepily, I said: “I love you.” And there was silence on the other end of the phone for a long moment. That was odd. Normally she’d say, sweetly: “good night.” But that’s not what happened.

She took a deep breath, and said: “I love you, too,” the warm sound of those words, the very first time she’d told me those words, a memory that glows like a gem in my heart forever.

And that’s it. The rest is history. ♥ Eleven years ago, tonight, Natalie and I became a couple.

I’m the luckiest woman in the world. I’m married to my soul mate and other half, the woman who makes every day of my life more beautiful than the one before it.

Eleven years ago, I fell asleep in tears, hardly believing how lucky I was.

Eleven years later, I hold my wife tight and fall asleep, hardly believing how lucky I am.

♥ ♥ ♥

(This photo was taken eleven years ago. ♥)

(If you’re interested, I have a little more about how Natalie and I met, and our story, on my “About Me” page. 🙂 )

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

