My Writing Process!

I was tagged by the lovely Suzanne M. Harding to write a blog post about my writing process. A lot of really wonderful lesbian authors are currently doing this, and it’s been inspiring to read about their processes (every writer is so unique and different, how she brings her stories out into the world!) So here’s mine:

What are you currently working on?

Oh, goodness, a lot of things! I’m the type of writer who needs a lot of projects to keep me busy, though usually I end up concentrating on one specific project each day. I’m working right now, first and foremost, on A Knight to Remember, which will be released this week!

I’m also working on editing a novel of mine that I wrote the month before and the actual month of our wedding. It was a really wonderful project to help me relax at the end of a day of wedding planning (my wife, Natalie Vivien, and I worked on a lot of the details of our wedding ourselves because we’re crafty people…so it was stressful!). It’s a fun, magical novel that pairs paranormal elements with fantasy ones, and I hope to release it soon. I’m also working on Eternal Heartbreak, which is the fifth installment of my Sullivan Vampires series, the first novel in a series about tigress shapeshifters and the second novel in my Lone Wolf series…and a couple of other projects, believe it or not! πŸ™‚ I’m all over the map, but my days are spent doing what I love best: writing my heart out on stories I love!

How does your work differ from others in the genre?

Well, there’s very, very little lesbian paranormal romance and fiction out there, so that already differentiates me. I don’t need to have vampires in my romance, don’t get me wrong (my wife’s work, for example, includes some of my favorite books in the genre <3), but I’ve been writing vampires and werewolves for so long that they’re just a part of me. πŸ™‚ There’s something so inherently romantic about the idea of living forever (or, at least, a very long time for my vampires), or having something that makes you different, and being vulnerable enough to share it with someone you’re falling in love with (like being a werewolf). I like to think that I put a lot of humanity into my characters. I also think that the romance that I share with my wife makes what I write very, very romantic, which I’m grateful that my readers enjoy. πŸ™‚

Why do you write what you do?

I write what I do because these stories are part of me. I want, more than anything, to leave this world a better place, and I work very, very hard on my stories to make them enjoyable to my readers, but at the very end of the day, I couldn’t not write these books. I dream about the characters, I love my characters, I love their struggles and their courage. Their heartache and joy is my own, and so much of myself is put into these books. Writing helps me make sense of the world. πŸ™‚

How does your writing process work?

Oh, goodness! That’s a tough one. πŸ™‚ Well, first and foremost, I write everyday. This is my job, so I spend a lot of time when I first wake up editing what I wrote the previous day, and then launching into the next day’s work. I work off of outlines which Natalie and I both come up with (bouncing ideas off of your wife and cementing them together is the best thing! We do this together for her novels, too. We’re both very involved in each other’s writing processes because we’re both each other’s biggest fans <3), but the story usually deviates from the outline at least a little–these characters have minds of their own! I, unfortunately, have incredibly crippling carpal tunnel, so I do my best to get as much done in the day as I can, but when it’s too painful to keep writing, I usually tend to edit an older story in the afternoon, or take a break, get some lunch, and depending on how I feel, keep working. πŸ™‚

I would love to tag my wife, author Natalie Vivien, and my best friend, lesbian paranormal author P.J. Bryce to do this survey on writing process, too! πŸ™‚

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Writing Process!

  1. A mic and Dragon Naturally speaking (voice to text software) might be something to consider. You can dictate as you would speak normally and it converts it to text on any program you use. Could be an answer for days where your carpal tunnel flares up.

    You can even record voice (like in a university class lecture) and play it back to have it convert it to a text file that you can search, organize, etc.

    • Thank you for the suggestion, Ted! I’ve given the voice to text software that was already installed on my laptop a try, and it was kind of a beast to tangle with. I spent so much time having it go back to correct what I’d said that I lost the flow of the story a couple of times. But I still try to tangle with it on really, really bad days. I’ve heard that Dragon is better than the software that comes on laptops–do you know anything about that? It’d be so much easier if I wouldn’t have to say “go back, replace ‘naturally’ with ‘Natalie'” every other word. πŸ™‚

      • Hey Bridget. The thing with Dragon software (I’ve used it in the past) is that it also ‘learns’ your voice. I remember having to set it up so that it learns your specific tone, rate of speech, things like that. It’s far superior to anything you’d have installed by default on your stock machine. It is a bit pricey, around 150 I think I saw yesterday. The ‘home’ version is only 80 but it has the same engine as the pro variants.

        I’m not sure if it’s as fail prone as other voice to text software out there but I doubt it. My wife texted me the other day and said she was at the ‘GCI store’ (our telecon in Alaska) and her voice to text software figured she said, “Juicy Ass’ store… Not saying Dragon is infallible, but I’ll bet it’s far better than most πŸ™‚

        • Oh my goodness, Ted, this is great news! Thank you so much–I’ve seen all the commercials on Dragon, but after my experiences with the voice software on my laptop, I just dismissed them. Your personal experience and recommendation is greatly appreciated. πŸ™‚ I’ll have to save my pennies to get it, but now I’m so excited that I might really find relief for my wrists. Again, thank you so much for the rec! I’m super hopeful about it now. πŸ™‚

          • Just in case you have a Mac, I spent some time this afternoon looking into the Mac version. It seems it’s substantially different than the windows version I’m used to. Opinion of it’s worth seems to be all over the place. So keep that in mind if you’re a Mac kind of girl πŸ™‚ It might be more frustrating than it’s worth.

Leave a Reply

