The Reading Habits of Bibliophiles

My sweetheart and I walked to our little coffee shop/book store this morning so that I could get a really wonderful frozen coffee with an extra shot of espresso (she said it’s to “help me write” today! She’s such a keeper. ♥). Well, much to my surprise, when we wandered over to the book store section, the older gentleman who owns the book store was reading…on his Kindle! I had to chuckle at that–here he is, the proud owner of a book store (and I’ve had that dream for years, so I understand it!), and he himself is reading a book on his Kindle and not reading an “actual” book. 

It led to a really good conversation with my sweetie on the way back home…we know that more and more people are reading on eReaders, obviously, but we wondered…what amount of people would choose an eReader OVER an actual book?

I grew up loving the scent of paper and holding a book in my hands, but even I have to admit…I pick up my Kindle more often than the stack of paperbacks on my bedside table. What about you? When you have a choice between a stack of paperbacks or your Kindle, which do you choose?

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Reading Habits of Bibliophiles

  1. I use my kindle for many reasons. It’s small and can go with me when I go out and will have down time, I can fit over 1000 books in it, which are not taking up all of my space and pushing me out of rooms like they did before I got my kindle (LOL). I can read with the light off, etc. etc. I love the smell and feel of books, but I guess it comes down to how much easier it is with a kindle. I still read my paperbacks, but more often than not, I’m using my kindle.

    • Bridget Essex says:

      A lot of those are my reasons that I prefer a Kindle, too. The Kindle is so light and so easy to take with me places…it is so much easier. I also love the convenience of being able to get any book I want anytime. 🙂 For me, most of what I read is lesbian fiction and romance, and I love the fact that I’m supporting the author immediately (I read a lot of self published work, too!).

  2. VLNicoll says:

    I’d say I prefer light reading on my iPad over having a paperback. Most of what I have in my kindle library are my romance books; stories I can put down and pick up chapter by chapter. For longer reads, I prefer a nice, thick hardcover. My mother recently lent me her copy of Anna Karenina, and I just purchased a copy of Bram Stoker’s Dracula (I’ve been putting off reading it for some time). Books like those two, I’d feel it would be a disservice to stick them on an eReader. Plus, there’s really nothing quite like curling up on a sofa with a big book and a blanket for a few hours and pretending nothing else exists.

    • I feel that way about re-reading beloved books of mine. I never want to read my absolute favorites on my Kindle–I have to have the paper copies!

      A side note: I’m RIDICULOUSLY EXCITED that you’re about to read Dracula! It’s one of my favorite books of ALL TIME–you’ll have to tell me what you think of it when you’re done, but I think you’re going to love it. 🙂 While you’re at it, have you read Sheridan Le Fanu’s Carmilla? It’s what inspired Stoker’s Dracula, and it’s absolutely lesbian. 🙂

      • VLNicoll says:

        I’m only two chapters in so far, but I am enjoying it greatly. I’m taking it slow, I don’t want to rush it.

        As for Carmilla, I have indeed read it. I think I have two or three different copies of it floating around here somewhere (they keep disappearing). It’s what piqued my interest in vampire fiction in the first place. 🙂

        • I’m so glad you’re enjoying it!

          Oh my GOODNESS, I can’t believe it! Every time I talk to anyone about Carmilla, they’ve NEVER heard of it!!! It’s probably my favorite novel EVER. 🙂 Have you ever seen any of the film versions? There’s a lot of lesbian sexploitation stuff, sadly, but there’s actually several VERY good films based on the book that stay true to the lesbianism and DON’T exploit it. My FAVORITE of these is the Meg Tilly version–you can actually watch it on YouTube! I have a very old VHS copy that I’ve worn out with watching. It stays completely true to the tragedy and star-crossed love while still keeping Carmilla very wild and fierce. They had a very, very tiny budget for the film, but it’s still lovely. 🙂

          Goodness, that was long–anyway, I’ve never met anyone else who knew what I was talking about and loved it, too!!! 🙂 That makes me so happy!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Well…I don’t think I could ever lose the love of honest to goodness paperbacks. The moldy smell of old books brings me back the memories of my childhood friends.. You see for a while my dad worked at a paper mill, he’d bring back books that had the torn cover, which meant they were going to be ripped apart and re-purposed.. Didn’t live within walking distance of a library so they were my escape from an unfortunate childhood. My friends where I had none. Libraries make me happy, as do bookstores. I’d say the reader is wonderful, and I use it to buy allot of books these days because its a way to have multiple books at my finger tips. However, hand me a rusty old paperback any day! I’ll save them! They have character, and make me feel apart of something. Hmm…or maybe I am just a romantic.

  4. Raquel says:

    I started reading on my kindle because otherwise I would have to buy the (more expensive) paperback, pay $10 more to have it shipped to my country and wait at least two weeks for it. And for lesfic, reading in English is my only option since the genre in Portuguese is almost nonexistent. So ebooks are not only cheaper, but sometimes the only way to have access to certain genres. And now my for-fun reading is exclusively ebooks even if the book is easily accessible to me.

Leave a Reply

