The Very First Blog Post (Brought to you by a very good latte)

I’ve been wanting to stay a little more connected and have a place where I could talk about my upcoming projects…so my sweetheart bought me a special treat of a latte today (with an extra shot of espresso! She’s such a keeper :)), and I decided I’d make my very first blog post!

I’ve been very hard at work with the edits on The Protector, the very first book in my Lone Wolf series, which is not a series of novellas, like my Sullivan Vampires books, but rather a series of novels.

There’s something really special at work in this series–the main characters Elizabeth and Layne are very unlike any other ladies I’ve ever written. Elizabeth is kind of a firecracker, and Layne is so sarcastic and funny…watching their love story unfold is making me so happy, but again–it’s unfolding very differently from any other story I’ve ever told! I looooooove to write long, epic love stories–the kind that take many, many volumes to get to, with lots of tension and close misses and angst. I LOVE a lot of angst in my love stories! And there’s definitely tension and angst in The Protector, but it’s very different. Layne and Elizabeth want to be together, but there’s a very unnatural barrier preventing them from that happiness…something that Elizabeth doesn’t learn until the end of that very first novel.

Obviously, from the cover of the book (which I am SO HAPPY WITH!! Look at that gorgeous werewolf! :)), the Lone Wolf series is about werewolves:

But it’s also very much about vampires! All of my books are set in the same “universe,” the same universe I’ve been writing in for so long–I call it my Nocturne universe. This means that lycanthropy (being a werewolf) and vampirism work in the same way across all the books, and several characters make appearances across the novels!

I just released Eternal Dance, my fourth Sullivan Vampires novella, and am hoping to release the fifth one sooner rather than later, but edits on The Protector are taking up most of my time. I promise I’m going to try to get you Eternal Heartbreak this month or very early in April, if I can!

My latte is almost all gone, and I still have several hours of edits ahead of me–wish me luck! I think you guys are going to love The Protector, or at least I hope very much that you do! 🙂

About Bridget Essex

Author of lesbian romances; madly in love with my wife, author Natalie Vivien.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Very First Blog Post (Brought to you by a very good latte)

  1. Katherine Standell says:

    Hello Bridget I just finished The Protector and loved it, so when do we get the sequel in ebook?
    I am on pins and needles . And could you let me know when your new book is out?

    Katherine Standell

    • Hi Katherine! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell me how much you enjoyed THE PROTECTOR–that means a great deal to me. I’m so glad you loved it! 🙂 My hope is that the sequel will be out sometime in mid-July, but I’ll definitely keep you posted! If you’re not already, please sign up for Rose and Star Press’s email list–we’ll let you know immediately when it’s released through that! Also, DARK ANGEL will be out this week, and we’ll send a newsletter the minute it’s up! The link to sign up for our newsletter is here: http://ymlp.com/xgbmjsyhgmgb

      Again, I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

